text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
background-image

Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs von Busby, Cylin (eBook)

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 02.02.2016
  • Verlag: Knopf Books for Young Readers
eBook (ePUB)
26,51 €
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Online verfügbar

Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs

For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring good luck. Onto the ship the kitten goes, and so begins the adventurous, cliff-hanging, lucky life of Jacob Tibbs. At first, Jacob's entire world is the ship's hold, where the sailors heave their heavy loads and long-tailed rats scurry in the darkness. But before long, Jacob's voyage takes him above deck and onward to adventure. Along the way, Jacob will encounter loss and despair, brave thunderous storms at sea, face down a mutiny, survive on a desert island, and above all, navigate the tricky waters of shipboard life and loyalties. Praise for The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs"Original, surprisingly intense. . . . A beautiful piece of writing." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times-bestselling author of Counting by 7s"Rarely does a book come along that I finish and think, 'This is going to be a classic.' This is that book." --Jo Knowles, author of See You at Harry's "Emotional resonance and chockablock seafaring adventures combined with coming-of-age themes takes this over the top. . . An outstanding choice for fans of middle grade nautical adventure and animal narrator novels." --School Library Journal, starred review"With engrossing action and great character description and development, Busby has created a story that will enthrall fans of animal fantasy. Kelley's full-page drawings add to this well-crafted tale, which many readers may come to treasure." --Booklist, starred review"In addition to giving Jacob an engaging narrative voice, Busby fills the novel with nautical lore and lingo, making Jacob's journey one to savor." --Publishers Weekly"An absorbing historical coming-of-age adventure supported by deeper themes of grief, despair, and determination." --Kirkus ReviewsFrom the Hardcover edition.

Produktinformationen

    Format: ePUB
    Kopierschutz: AdobeDRM
    Seitenzahl: 272
    Erscheinungsdatum: 02.02.2016
    Sprache: Englisch
    ISBN: 9780553511253
    Verlag: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Weiterlesen weniger lesen

Kundenbewertungen