text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
background-image

Psycho Thrill - Girl in the Well von Voss, Vincent (eBook)

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 03.10.2014
  • Verlag: Bastei Lübbe
eBook (ePUB)
1,99 €
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Online verfügbar

Psycho Thrill - Girl in the Well

A cozy old farm house for sale in the country? Sabine und Robert think they've won the jackpot, when they buy Kreuziger Farm at a reduced rate. But then strange things start to happen: Who is this Marie, with whom only their young son can communicate? Why are there swarms of flies buzzing about? Who's footsteps are those in the attic at night? In desperation, Sabine contacts the 'Witch Archive,? a special department at the Ethnological Institute in Hamburg, specializing in the supernatural. But it's too late. The evil has found its target, and it's closing in for the kill ... -- PSYCHO THRILL is a series of horror novellas - from classic ghost story to psychological thriller and dark fantasy. Each of the novellas was first published in German and has now been published for the first time in English. Among the writers are popular German authors, as well as newcomers to the scene. Each story is self-contained. PSYCHO THRILL is produced by Uwe Voehl. -- For fans of Stephen King: Dark Tower series, Neil Gaiman: Fragile Things, and the American Horror Story TV series.

Produktinformationen

    Format: ePUB
    Kopierschutz: none
    Seitenzahl: 80
    Erscheinungsdatum: 03.10.2014
    Sprache: Englisch
    ISBN: 9783732502134
    Verlag: Bastei Lübbe
    Übersetzt von: Übersetzung: Cohen, Sharmila
    Größe: 1576kBytes
Weiterlesen weniger lesen

Psycho Thrill - Girl in the Well

"I am evil." The woman's whispering voice explodes into the receiver. Controlled, emotionless, and still you can make out the struggle it was for her to take this step.

Many turned to Johanna in this way, but they were rarely so direct. And even more rarely were they so ... cool.

"Hello, this is Johanna Ebeling with the witch archive at the Ethnological Institute in Hamburg. How can I help you?" Johanna asks, building trust, seriousness.

There is a pause.

Johanna hears breathing on the other end and sees her colleague Henning come out from behind the bookshelves. Calls are always something special.

"I am evil. I need to come by. Can I come by?" Scared and demanding at the same time. And, again, Johanna feels the inner conflict in the stranger's voice. How haunted. Maybe, as is so often the case, mental illness is the only reason for the call.

"Of course you can. We are open every Tuesday and Thursday from eight to four. It would be best if you made an appointment with ..."

Click. Johanna looks at the handset.

Even Henning can hear the dial tone in the quiet rooms of the Museum of Ethnology. He shrugs.

Johanna shakes her head and hangs up. This is also not a rare occurrence, since they offer telephone consultations. It's just one call among many, which Johanna and her colleague Henning Lambertz quickly forget.

August. During the break between semesters, the quiet of the institute is overwhelming. Occasionally, they hear Mrs. Kramer clearing books from the shelves in the museum library next door and the sound of tennis balls being hit in the adjacent spaces for the sports academics at Rothenbaum. Henning has opened all the windows, but there's still a stifling humidity, even within the otherwise relatively cool walls. Johanna is transcribing an interview with a tenant of the Grindle high-rises about a ghost sighting; Henning is entering the typed witches' logs into the computer. A fan rests on top of a pile of books between the two screens, providing a cool breeze at head height, but without blowing around any loose pages. Johanna stops the playback, her fingers hover over the keyboard, but, instead of typing, she leans forward and sets the fan so that it only blows on Henning. She's got a chill.

"What's going on?" Henning looks at her.

"It somehow got kind of cold, don't you think?" He looks up searchingly and shakes his head. Turns back to his manuscript and pauses.

"Yes! I think you're right." He turns off the fan and looks at the window. Johanna looks at the door that leads to the hallway.

"It's coming from there." She nods toward the door and feels the cold flowing toward her from there. Not the type of cold that's caused by a gust of air. Another type of cold.

"Yes," Henning whispers. "It feels like ... like ..." He doesn't have the words to describe it, his eyes lingering on the door as if he were expecting someone at any time. Or something. It's the same for Johanna. And it gets worse. Her stomach is in knots, her heart pounding in her ears. This is fear , she thinks, but doesn't know of what.

"Johanna, what is it?"

She can't answer, the fear is choking her, the panic is rising, both of them stare at the door and feel surrounded by an icy coldness. The doorknob starts to turn, Johanna's heart races. The door opens. A woman is standing there and looks around nervously.

"I called. I said I am evil," she introduces herself.

Johanna and Henning remember.

She sits stiffly upright on a chair in front of them, puts her purse on her knees, and clasps her hands together on top of it in her lap. Her eyes

Weiterlesen weniger lesen

Kundenbewertungen