text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Breaking the Code Westminster Diaries von Brandreth, Gyles (eBook)

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 29.09.2014
  • Verlag: Biteback Publishing
eBook (ePUB)
33,39 €
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Online verfügbar

Breaking the Code

Brandreth is the true Samuel Pepys of our day. Andrew Neil, BBC Radio Five Live Brandreth, for my money, offers about the most honest, and the most amusing, account of the demented, beery futility of the Tory-ruled Commons in the 1990s. Boris Johnson, Daily Telegraph Hilariously acute Irresistible. Matthew dAncona, Sunday Telegraph Extremely touching Brandreth emerges as a decent, amusing, talented and charming man. Simon Heffer, Daily Mail As a witty and insightful chronicler Brandreth is unsurpassed. Michael Simmons, The Spectator Gyles Brandreths revealing journal paints an extraordinary portrait of Whitehall and Westminster in our time warts and all. Brandreth MP for Chester and government whip enjoyed a ringside seat at the great political events of the 1990s, from the fall of Margaret Thatcher to the election of Tony Blair. With candid descriptions of the key figures of the era, from the leading players to the ministers who fell from grace, and a cast that includes the Queen, Bill Clinton and Joanna Lumley, these widely acclaimed diaries provide a fascinating insight into both the reality of modern government and the bizarre life of a parliamentary candidate and new MP. Controversially, Breaking the Code also contains the first ever insiders account of the hitherto secret world that is the Government Whips Office. This new, complete edition features material previously excised for legal reasons, as well as additional diaries that take the story on another ten years to the departure of Tony Blair and the arrival as Tory leader of David Cameron a bright young hopeful when Brandreth first meets him in 1993.


    Format: ePUB
    Kopierschutz: AdobeDRM
    Erscheinungsdatum: 29.09.2014
    Sprache: Englisch
    ISBN: 9781849548182
    Verlag: Biteback Publishing
Weiterlesen weniger lesen