text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Tchaikovsky The Man and his Music von Brown, David (eBook)

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 22.12.2010
  • Verlag: Faber & Faber, London
eBook (ePUB)
28,89 €
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Online verfügbar


This volume uniquely combines a lively biography of one of the best-loved composers of the nineteenth century with a detailed chronological guide to much of his oeuvre, from the popular ballets and concertos to lesser known pieces. Brown enthusiastically and sensitively guides the reader through Tchaikovsky's music in the context of his life. His writing on the music is accessible and informative, both for the professional musician and the keen amateur listener. The biographical writing includes fascinating quotations from the composer's letters, and those of his friends, the Tchaikovsky that emerges, despite his periodic struggle with depression, is a man with a very positive attitude to life, and a kind and supportive friend to many around him. This is essential reading for anyone with an interest in Tchaikovsky, his music and the culture of the time. Comments on Professor Brown's earlier four-volume study on the life and work of Tchaikovsky: 'In any language, it is definitive' Geoffrey Norris, Sunday Telegraph 'A magnificent achievement, and one which can only deepen our appreciation and understanding of this great composer' Hugh Canning, Sunday Times


    Format: ePUB
    Kopierschutz: AdobeDRM
    Erscheinungsdatum: 22.12.2010
    Sprache: Englisch
    ISBN: 9780571260935
    Verlag: Faber & Faber, London
Weiterlesen weniger lesen