text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Philosophy von Harwood, Jeremy (eBook)

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 02.08.2012
  • Verlag: Quercus Publishing
eBook (ePUB)
5,99 €
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar

Online verfügbar


From philosophy's founding fathers - Thales, Socrates, Plato... to great minds of the post-modern era - Satre, Ayer, Feyerabend... this concise new guide presents 100 of the world's most influential thinkers. Arranged from the ancient world to the present day, each philosopher's key ideas, notable works and pronouncements are encapsulated in a series of succinct biographies, accompanied by illustrations, at-a-glance fact panels and thought-provoking quotations. Philosophy: A Beginner's Guide uncovers the fundamental concepts of this fascinating discipline, explaining the diverging schools of thought and revealing the universal aim of philosophy throughout the ages - to push back the boundaries of human knowledge in order to understand the fundamental nature of human existence. THE ANCIENT WORLD: Thales (c.635-c.543 BCE), Buddha (c.563-483 BCE), Confucius (c.55-479 BCE), Socrates (470-399 BCE), Plato (427-347 BCE), Aristotle (384-322 BCE). THE MIDDLE AGES: Avicenna (Ibn Sina) (980-1037), Peter Lombard (c1100-1160), Averroes (Ibn Rushd) 1126-1198), Thomas Aquinas (1225-1274), William of Ockham (1285- 1349). THE EARLY MODERN ERA: Machiavelli (1469-1527), Hobbes (1588-1679), Descartes (1596-1650), Locke (1632-1704), Voltaire (1694-1778). THE MODERN ERA: Fichte (1762-1814), G W F Hegel (1770-1831), Schopenhauer (1788-1860), Marx (1818-1883), Engels (1820-1895), Nietzsche (1844-1900), Dewy (1859-1952), Max Weber (1864-1920), Gasset (1883-1955), Heidegger (1889-1976). THE POST-MODERN ERA: Marcuse (1898-1979), Karl Popper (1902-1994), Sartre (1905-1980), Arendt (1906-1975), de Beauvoir (1908-1986), A J Ayer (1910-1989), Feyerabend (1924-1994), Rorty (1931-2007). And many more...


    Format: ePUB
    Kopierschutz: AdobeDRM
    Erscheinungsdatum: 02.08.2012
    Sprache: Englisch
    ISBN: 9781780878010
    Verlag: Quercus Publishing
Weiterlesen weniger lesen